I’ll Be the One: K-pop-inspired romance book to be adapted by HBO Max

I

I'll Be the One: K-pop-inspired romance book to be adapted by HBO Max
Photo: Disclosure / Katherine Tegen Books

I’ll Be the One, a book by Lyla Lee that arrives in Brazilian bookstores in 2020 by the publisher Plataforma 21, had its adaptation rights purchased by HBO Max, a new streaming platform that seals the partnership between HBO and Warner Media, and will be made into a film.

The production and direction will be by Nahnatchka Khan, already known for the film Always Be My Maybe, released by Netflix. The script will be a project by the author of the work in partnership with Joy Gorman Wettels. The cast has not yet been defined.

Check out the translation of the synopsis, presented in English on the book’s page on Amazon:

The K-Pop world has never known a star like that. Rookie author Lyla Lee offers a delightfully fun and thoughtful romantic comedy celebrating confidence and body positivity – perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Julie Murphy.

Skye Shin has heard of everything. Fat girls shouldn’t be dancing. They should not use light colors. They must not draw attention to themselves. But Skye dreams of joining the brilliant world of K-Pop, and to do that, she is about to break all the rules that society, the media and even her own mother have set for girls like her.

She will challenge thousands of other artists in an internationally televised competition, looking for the next K-pop star, and will do it better than anyone else.

When Skye auditions, she immediately engages in a whirlwind of countless practices, shocking performances and the drama that comes with reality shows. She lacks the highly phobic standards of beauty in the Korean pop entertainment industry, her sudden fame and media scrutiny or the sparks that soon soar with her fellow competitor, Henry Cho.

But Skye aims to become the world’s first K-pop star, and that means winning the competition – without getting lost.

There is still no premiere date for the adaptation of I’ll Be The One.

Meanwhile, get to know 10 other series that have been adapted from books here at Cinema10.

0 Shares